Directors’ Choice Awards

| The MainStreet Library |

Submissions that are “Nominated" by both Evaluators become contestants in our Directors Choice Awards (DCA) competition.  Periodically, a Jury of theater professionals is impaneled to review the Nominated works and select six DCA Finalists.

The Finalists are then reviewed by MainStreet’s Guest Artistic Director (GAD), a well-known professional, who selects three DCA Winners - the GAD’s suggestion for a 3-show Festival.  Guest Artistic Directors serve for a single Season.

Finalists and Winners are available to MainStreet’s regional Affiliates for public concert reading Presentations, Benefits, and in participating MainStreet Festivals.>>

Musical numbers from DCA Finalists and Winners are featured in MainStreet’s annual BROADWAY BOUND performance competition presented by Acceptd, Inc.

2017 Guest Artistic Director
Mark Brokaw

Gregory Mosher
MARK BROKAW is the artistic director of the Yale Institute for Music Theatre, a competition-based program that supports emerging music theatre writers and composers. As a director his Broadway credits include Heisenberg, Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella, The Lyons, After Miss Julie, The Constant Wife, Cry-Baby, and Reckless. New York premieres include works by David Auburn, Lynda Barry (The Good Times Are Killing Me), Douglas Carter Beane (As Bees in Honey Drown), Charles Busch, Julia Cho, Lisa Kron (2.5 Minute Ride), Kenneth Lonergan (This Is Our Youth, Lobby Hero), Craig Lucas (The Dying Gaul), Nicky Silver (The LyonsToo Much Sun), Simon Stephens and Paula Vogel (How I Learned to Drive, The Long Christmas Ride Home). Regional includes Guthrie, Seattle Rep, Center Theatre Group, Yale Rep, La Jolla, Steppenwolf, Berkeley Rep, Hartford Stage, Huntington Theatre, Sundance Theatre Lab and the O’Neill Theatre Conference. He has directed at London’s Donmar Warehouse and Menier Chocolate Factory, Dublin’s Gate Theatre and the Sydney Opera House.  He serves on the Executive Board of SDC, and is an artistic associate of Roundabout Theatre.

Our Past Guest Artistic Directors


Gregory Mosher


John Lithgow Michael Mayer


John Lithgow John Lithgow


Gabriel Barre Gabriel Barre


Stafford Arima Stafford Arima


Charles Repole Charles Repole


Kathleen MarshallPatricia Birch Kathleen Marshall & Patricia Birch


John Rando John Rando


Gabriel Barre Gabriel Barre


Martin Charnin Martin Charnin


Walter Bobbie Walter Bobbie


Patricia Birch Patricia Birch


Graciele Daniele Graciele Daniele



MSM Evaluates Musicals and selects three
for presentation by
Regional Affiliates.

Submit a MusicalMainStreet Cities

Become an Evaluator

The MainStreet Team

Tim Jerome, President

Sherman Yellen, Chairperson

Barbara Bellman

Bill Liberman

Ron Spivak

Robert Kesten

Sarah Melissa Rotker

Wren Marie Harrington

Nancy Robillard

Alyce Mott

Roger Ames

Christian Sebek

Manuel Zarate

Aaron David Gleason

Doug Barron

Main Street Musicals


(partial list)

Lynn Ahrens

Emanuael Azenberg

Gabriel Barre

Patricia Birch

Michael Cassara

Kathleen Chalfant

Graciela Daniele

Stephen Flaherty

Sutton Foster

Sheldon Harnick

George Hearn

Judy Kaye

Nina Lannan

Peter Lawrence

Hal Linden

John Lithgow

Lucie Arnaz Luckinbill

Patti Lupone

Brian Stokes Mitchell

Dina Merrill

Robert Petkoff

Harold Prince

Thomas Schumacher

Thomas Z. Shepard

Tony Walton

Lillias White

Main Street Musicals

MainStreet is proud to partner with Acceptd. Check them out at:

MainStreet is proud to partner with HumanStage.

Human Stage

MainStreet is proud to partner with Victor Herbert Source.
Contact them at 917-815-8899

Digital Original Performance Materials